MusiCHI new version 5.5: Total recall & new support for m4a (Apple) format

Brain memory failure is allowed!

From now on what is loaded in your playing queue will be saved automatically in the library, so you can recall for example the song you liked so much 2 weeks ago and have no clue how to locate it, or avoiding to play the same CD over and over again because you have no idea what you did listen to; this being for the most serious pathologies.
To use Menu > View > Playing history

Mixed OS user rejoice!

The support for the Apple format has been re-written 100% with native code, now supporting true custom fields. You can still use your mac or your iWhatever to listen and edit metadata with the MusiCHI tagger. Of course you can still use the MusiCHI player as usual and benefit of superior sound and unsurpassed searches .

MusiCHI as a movie front end?

Given m4a is also a video format you could tag and archive your m4a movies too, and using the external player feature watch them with for example VLC.

Metal!

We are expanding our horizons, we a giving away a blues and heavy metal flavor, thanks to some power users. One of the beauty of MusiCHI architecture is its flexibility. Being a multi library system, in addition with the concept of “flavors”, you can tailor the metadata of any musical styles, resulting in the most flexible searches.

Other goodies

Ripper: For a multi CD set with the same composer, a new file pattern: Composer\Album\CDCD number\(Track number)Title or name.

Tagger: The box set wizard got another option, to be able to record automatically the track count of a bunch of CDs, given this tag, in Flac, does not have a standard (TRACKCOUNT vs TRACKTOTAL), it can save a lot of time. Menu > Box set wizard > Set track count.

Player: The size ratio (in pixel) of the album cover displayed while a track is playing can now be modified. The default is set to 1:1 now, but can be modified (one user favors 509:491)

Client/Server

For the users interested we have a client server version of MusiCHI,  which needs 2 windows machines.
A thin server: you can use an old tired laptop/desktop (although if possible silent) solely used and optimized for sound reproduction.
A thicker client:  that will perform all the searches in your lib, without interfering with the playing. A semi-powerful laptop or a windows tablet is ideal in this case.
Please contact us at support@musichi.eu

20 thoughts on “MusiCHI new version 5.5: Total recall & new support for m4a (Apple) format

  1. I am currently using two laptop computers to manage and play my music FLAC files. Both computers are running Windows 10 and I am using Windows Remote Desktop to communicate between the computers via my wireless home network. My dedicated “music” laptop has a 1 TB external hard drive to store my music FLAC files (over 23000 and growing). The music laptop is connected to an external DAC via USB cable. The DAC’s audio output is connected to my AV Receiver.

    I have my music FLAC files backed up on my main laptop. I use Remote Desktop to control my music laptop from my main laptop. I am very pleased with this setup and I am very pleased with the Musichi suite for storing and playing my FLAC files.

    Happy listening to everyone.

    Art

  2. Not mentioned above but on first use but it seems much quicker than the previous version. The old version was sometimes slow to start (heavy use of my SSD disk too). I have 2,700 CDs (33k files) and it’s really quick now.

    I also run the 64 bit version of Firebird.

    Thanks
    Mike

    • Hi Mike,

      What version of the Firebird 64-bit software are you running?

      What “special steps”, if any, did you take when you installed the 64-bit version of Firebird?

      I’m asking because I could not get Musichi to open libraries with the 64-bit version – so I reverted to the 32-bit version from about 9 months ago.

      Thanks,

      Art

  3. I’m using v2.5.5.26952 which I think I downloaded last February. I only use one library and have no problems. I installed Firebird before Musichi and all seems well.

    Mike

    • I have downloaded and installed the recommended 2.5.6.270202 64-bit version. All is well. Thanks for the help.

      Art

      • My experience with the new version of Musichi and the 64-bit version of Firebird is that my Library loads in much less time. The 64-bit version of Firebird may be a part of this increased loading speed. My library contains about 24,000 Lossless FLAC files, plus a few Lossless WAV files.

  4. I was already running 64-bit Firebird with the previous Musichi, it’s the new version of Musichi that seems to load much quicker – really good! I have my FLAC files on a conventional hard disk and my library on my solid state system disk. While waiting for the programme to load, windows showed that it was really hammering my system disk.
    I also found that the 64-bit version allowed me to hold more data about performers, the earlier version cut off some of the opera casts but this may have coincided with an upgrade on Musichi.

    • Haven’t seen anything new regarding Musichi for awhile.

      Are there any new or upcoming developments?

      Are you in the process of adding any new composers and their compositions?

  5. Hi Mike,

    I must reluctantly report that I am no longer using MusiCHI as my music player and music files manager, I listen almost exclusively to classical music. Many of my classical recordings have no musical break between tracks. MusiCHI does not handle this continuous music stream well. Whenever I play a recording with continuous music across adjacent tracks, MusiCHI introduces a brief, but noticeable, break in the sound. I have found this situation to be annoying to the extent that I have switched to MusicBee as my main music player and library manager.

    Both MusiCHI and MusicBee have excellent playback characteristics and library-management features. I still have MusiCHI loaded on my systems and I am hopeful that the issue of sound dropout across adjacent tracks will be addressed by the developer at some point.

    Regards,

    Art

  6. Sorry about the delay, I’ve been away.
    I totally agree about gapless playback being essential, especially for opera. I use foobar with Musichi to get gapless playback, it’s very easy and described in a recent blog on this site. Give it a try
    Regards
    Mike

    • Hi Mike,

      I have now used MusicBee for so long that I am comfortable with its capabilities, included gapless playback. If Musichi is updated to include gapless playback, I will then relook at Musichi. Otherwise, I see no advantage in having to use Foobar with Musichi to achieve gapless playback, when I can simply use MusicBee as a stand-alone program.

      Best,

      Art

      • We will do gapeless soon but the audio sound is not the same – you cannot hear it because of whatever factors and our search capabilites and multi lidb is way more powerfull than Musicbee

  7. Hi Philippe,

    Really good news about adding gapless capability. I look forward to being informed when gapless becomes operational in Musichi.

    Best,

    Art

  8. Hi Philippe,

    I see Version 6.1 is now mentioned. I s it available? Does it address gapless playback? How do I obtain Version 6.1?

    Best,

    Art

Leave a Reply

